Black Bean and Beet Burgers with Beet Cashew Cream (Vegan with Gluten Free Option)

IMG_20160401_145254

Beets are kind of funny. They’re kind of scary looking, and if you’ve never had them before, you’ll be thinking what the heck do I do with this? I never ate them growing up, and just a year or two ago I tried them for the first time. Adam made me a roasted root vegetable dish, with all of these vegetables that I’ve never really eaten before, and it was really good! I’ve always had this prejudice in my mind about beets because my mom is constantly eating canned beets with mayonnaise and rice. Which I think is weird, but she loves it, so hey, if you try that let me know! (With vegan mayo of course!)

To prepare the beets, you simply peel them, and chop them up in dices like you would anything else! Easy!

DSC_1669-01

The idea for these burgers was actually from a picture of beetroot hummus I saw. It was such a pretty color, and I thought it would make a really cool burger sauce. However, I didn’t make this sauce out of garbanzo beans, I actually made a cashew cream sauce!

DSC_1510-01

I packed these patties full of veggies! There are carrots, beets, red bell pepper, onion, and garlic in here! And they are also gluten free, as long as you use some gluten free buns, or eat it in a lettuce wrap!

DSC_1531-01

They’re really simple to make! Just cut up your veggies, give them a quick saute on the stove, mix and mash it all up with the beans, form into patties, and bake!

DSC_1542-01

Just like most other bean burgers, you don’t want to mash your beans all the way, because then your patties will become really mushy. You want to mash them until they hold it all together really nicely!

DSC_1520-01

I used to use a food processor to process my bean burgers, but I’ve switched to mashing them with a potato masher. This is because the processor would basically puree my mixture, even with only a couple pulses, and there would be no substance left to my veggies or beans. It takes a little more elbow grease, but mashing it by hand is the way to go! (Plus less dishes, yay!!)

DSC_1650-01

If you want to make some sweet potato fries, I have a recipe posted here! (click) Some roasted brussel sprouts would also go really well with these, which you can find here! (click)

DSC_1486-01

I hope you love this recipe! I love making these burgers, because there’s no need to make rice or anything that you have to wait on before you can make them!

DSC_1668-01

The only thing you need to prepare ahead of time are the soaked cashews! (Which takes five seconds!)

DSC_1503-01

 

Black Bean and Beet Burgers with Beet Cashew Cream

Vegan with Gluten Free Option

Makes 6 burgers

 

Ingredients:

For the burgers:

½ large onion, small diced

2 small carrots, or 1 large carrot, peeled and small diced

½ c. beets, peeled and small diced (about 1 small beet)

¼ of a red bell pepper, small diced

2 cloves garlic, pressed

2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed

1 c. quick oats

1/4 c. applesauce

½ t. salt

Pepper to taste

For the Beet Cashew Cream:

1/2 c. raw cashews, soaked overnight

1/4 c. beets, small diced (about 1/2 small beet)

1/4 c. soy milk

1 t. nutritional yeast

1/4 t. salt

For topping:

Buns

Lettuce

Shredded cabbage

Shredded carrots

Sliced avocado

Vegenaise

 

Procedure:

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. In a pan, sauté your onions until translucent, and then add your carrots. After a minute, add your beets, then your bell pepper, and during the last minute, add your garlic.

In a large mixing bowl, combine this with your beans, oats, applesauce, salt and pepper. Use a potato masher to mash the mixture until it will easily form patties, but not all of the beans are mashed.

Form into six large patties, and bake for about 20 minutes.

To make the beet cashew cream, combine all of your ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth, scraping the sides down when needed.

 

IMG_20160401_145254

Thanks for reading! Use the hashtag #werealljustpineapples on Instagram so I can see what you’ve made!